themagicofthoughts

Where I can be myself

Freedom or luxury ? March 1, 2012

Filed under: Life — themagicofthoughts @ 9:47 am
Tags:


What is the basic fundamental right that is recognized the world over ? It’s the right to freedom, the right by which each citizen is given the right to live his\her life according to his\her own terms while respecting the prevalent culture and traditions as well. But are we truly free? Today, as a woman, when I hear the news of multiple girls being raped in different parts of the city with the cases ranging from a security guard raping a 6 year old girl to a man raping his colleague’s wife, I cringe at what our society has come to. Are we comfortable watching such headlines each day and praying inside that our wives, mothers, sisters, daughters and friends are safe?


I don’t even have the heart to try and understand why someone would commit such gruesome acts of violence. Rather, a question that comes to my mind as a woman is, what is more important to us ? Luxury or freedom ?


I would love being driven around everywhere or having my own car to travel anywhere anytime, I can have someone accompany me and feel safe. But I even want the freedom to use public transport, to catch a metro train when the roads are jammed, to ride in an auto or bus if I have to and to be able to walk the roads of my city, Delhi when I want to without turning around to see if anyone is following me or fearing anyone trying to grope me or pull me into a moving vehicle ! I love my city and to not have the freedom to explore it on my own will seems to be a violation of the fundamental law of freedom my constitution had promised me !

 

Leave a Reply

